Picture it and write: Marbles

by joetwo

Hi there! This is my offering for this week’s Picture it and Write for Ermilia’s blog here. Once again, the picture is not mine, I only use it for inspiration. Anyway, Enjoy.

Marbles

“Where are they? Where are they?” the old man muttered as he wandered to and fro on the sand of the beach. “Are you alright?” I asked, I assumed that he had lost his glasses or wallet. He rubbed his forehead worryingly  “I..I don’t know. I know that they are gone, but I don’t know where. I have to find them.”

Needless to say, this was not very enlightening. “Okay! Okay!” I tried to placate him. “I’ll try to help you.”

I bent over and started combing over the sand looking for whatever it was. I didn’t take long before I found something. It was a round glass object. Inside was a scene of a sunset. It looked beautiful. I called over to the old man. “Here! I found something.”

He scrabbled over and eagerly snapped up the sphere in his hands. His muddled face lost some of its confusion. “Ah! I remember it now. I can remember the long summer days when I was a child. The sun used to spend what seemed like hours setting and I would sit with little Lucy watching it. I never wanted it to end.”

I looked in the area in greater detail Sure enough, there was another two, one with a smiling infant and another with a room filled with people. Upon taking them up into his hands he remembered his “little baby Jules” and “my public speaking debut, the most terrifying moment of my life”.

By then I wasn’t so concerned. I understood what was going on; This man had simply lost his marbles. I could see the sparkle off them in the sand like stars speckled across the sky. It would be relatively  easy to gather them up again for him.

image

  

