Picture it and Write: Infestation

by joetwo

Hi there! This is my offering for this week’s Picture it and Write from Ermilia’s blog here. Once again the picture is not mine, it is from here, I only use it for inspiration. Anyway, enjoy.

Infestation

“Bob’s magical pest control. Sprites and Bridge Trolls our speciality. How can I help you?”

“There has been something strange living in the tree down the back of my garden. The regular guy doesn’t know what to do with it. He told me you might know what to do.”

“Well we do have a reputation for the stranger side of this job. Tell me. Can you describe what has been happening to the tree?”

“Some very odd things. The branches wave on a still day, there is bright green glow coming off it at night, and if you go there at anytime you can hear giggling and see tiny little people-like things.”

“Hmmmm. Yeah! That could be one of several things. Tell me. Did your regular guy spray for leaf sprites?”

“Yes. And it didn’t have an effect.”

“So it it not that. Do you have a photograph by any chance?”

“My son took a picture of one.”

“Was it on a phone?”

“Yes.”

“Good! Get him to send it to this number. We can look at it while talking to you.”

……….

“Hi. Are you there? I got my son to send the picture.”

“Yep we just got it. Opening now….. Hmmmmm. Yeah! I know what it is. That is your Asian Wood Fairy.”

“Asian? How did it get here?”

“Did any lumber arrive recently?”

“Our neighbours are having renovations done. They had some outside.”

“Yeah! That is how they come over here. A queen can get transported if they don’t spray properly. It is rare but it happens.”

“Is there anything that can be done?”

“Well; I can bring you a poisoned bait that is guaranteed to get all of them. But that would be expensive. Thankfully you don’t actually need to do that.”

“I don’t?”

“Sure. The Asian Wood Fairy stays in and around the same tree for the whole Summer then in autumn the whole colony goes into a hole in the main trunk to bed down for the winter. All you need to do is.. Do you have any builder’s putty?”

“No.”

“Get some. You spread that over the opening of every hole in the trunk and that will suffocate the lot of them.”

“But what about them now? What should I do?”

“The Asian Wood Fairy is really not that bad. They only generate a minor magical field and are not ones to do that many mischievous tricks. I wouldn’t go to sleep under the tree, they might whisk you away to a mysterious realm, but other than that, harmless. It would be expensive to get us involved. I would say bare with it until winter then you can deal with them.”

“Uhhh, Ok! But if I find it too much to put up with?”

“Then I’ll be over in a jiffy and sort them out. It wouldn’t be necessary though. I don’t want you to waste your money.”

“Right! Thank you very much for your help.”

“It was my pleasure.”

“Goodbye.”

“Bye!” 

image

    

