Picture it and Write: One Chance

by joetwo

Hi there! This is my offering for this week’s Picture it and Write for Ermilia’s blog https://ermiliablog.wordpress.com/2015/04/19/__picture-it-write-105/. Once again the picture is not mine, it is by Gustav Johansson, I only use it for inspiration. Anyway, Enjoy.

One Chance

I met met her in the morning, fell in love with her over the afternoon, and had to say goodbye as the sun slowly set.

She was a tourist on a day trip to our lovely city and seemed very lost. I had very little to do that day and wished to help. It would be remiss of me to say that had she not looked quite as well as she did I may not have been so willing to lend my time but that is much of a muchness.

There is much to see but surprisingly little space in which to see it. You can peruse the top five sights well within the ten hours that Megan, that was her name by the way, had until she needed to catch her train. I know a lot of the ins and outs of the place and everywhere we went I was able to tell a little story about it. I strongly believe that I would have made an excellent tour guide if the fates had not decided otherwise. Either way, I was happy to see some of the sights I had ignored for so long and she was delighted to have her own private guide through the city At every bad joke I made her face would light up in a way that put the summer sun to shame.

We shared a late lunch at a cafe close to the Cathedral, we had climbed to the top of the bell tower, the effort had given use both a great hunger. Until then I had done most of the talking so I asked her why she was on her odyssey. She was vague, something had happened, old life had lost its flavour, looking for something new. I asked her if she had found something worthwhile. She looked at me for a second, a faint smile on her lips, “Maybe”.

The last two sights, the art gallery and the history museum seemed to fly by. I’d like to think I kept up my sterling performance throughout but I couldn’t be sure. My mind seemed to stay on those final words, on what they actually meant.

Finally the blue sky was turning dark as we made our way to the train station and the next step on her journey. As we crossed a bridge She stopped and placed her hand on the ornate wall looking out over the city lights just now coming to life. “I had a good time here. The best I have had so far. I’ll be sad to go.”

I will never know how it could be but the three seconds that past seemed to last for hours, torturously slow hours that rebounded through my mind with possibilities. There was more to what she had just said, I could feel it, more that had passed between us over the last ten hours. But I could be wrong, I had been wrong before. It was the perfect moment and my actions could ruin it in an instant. I was torn.

It was my one chance, I did not know what I would do.

