Vengence

by joetwo

GET UP YOU CRETIN

Mark sucked in a giant gulp of air and started coughing. He could feel the moss against the flat of his back, its moisture seeping through the fabric of his tunic.

I SAID, GET UP.

There was an electric surge through his whole body, practically throwing him up into the air. Mark came to his feet, still disorientated.

OK! NOW THAT YOU’RE UP, WHAT DO YOU REMEMBER?

Mark was shaking all over. The bright light of the clearing hurting his eyes. His mind was fuzzy. “I’m not sure. We were after the succubus. Did we find her?”

DID WE HELL! SHE JUMPED DOWN ON YOU FROM OVER THERE

Mark turned. One of the trees, thicker than a horse’s thigh, had been snapped in too.

REACHED RIGHT INTO YOUR HEART AND SUCKED OUT YOUR SOUL

“You mean I?….”

THAT’S RIGHT BUDDY. YOU DIED. OUT COLD. GOT YOURSELF SENT TO THE UNDERWORLD.

“But I…”

I HAD TO GO IN AND GET YOU BACK. I HOPE YOU APPRECIATE THAT, THE AMOUNT OF PAPERWORK WAS INSANE. TOOK ME A GOOD HALF AN HOUR

“I don’t know what to say… Thanks.”

DON’T MENTION IT. ARE YOU GOOD TO GO?

Mark didn’t know what to say. He had been dead, out cold. He did know one thing; he was glad to have his companion, demon, spirit, whatever you wanted to call him, he could be annoying, occasionally brash, but he just came through for him. Without his companion, mark would be a goner.

I LOST YOU FOR A SECOND SONNY. ARE YOU ALRIGHT?

“Yeah! Yeah! I am fine. Do you know where she went?”

THAT’S THE SPIRIT. BACK FROM THE DEAD AND OUT FOR REVENGE. I’M GETTING GOOSEBUMPS JUST THINKING ABOUT IT. NOT EXACTLY SURE, I WAS SAVING YOUR HIDE, BUT THERE IS A PRETTY FRESH TRAIL HEADING NORTH.

“What do you think I should do now?”

LET’S TRACK THIS BITCH DOWN AND SEND HER DOWN TO THE PITS OF HELL.

Mark nodded in agreement. Sure not to be caught again he summoned all of the power his mage training could muster to surround himself with protective spells. Filled with new life, a man reborn, seeking revenge, he was ready.

COME ON KID. LET’S DO THIS.

He took his first step.

image

############################################################
Written for The Light and Shade Challenge for Wednesday January 7th.

