Something New

by joetwo

You could live a safe life, that is good I suppose, but as my grandfather always said “You can’t sail the world if you never leave port”.

He was a great example of an adventurous sort, always trying new things, eating new foods. On his ninety fifth birthday he had my aunt call in a gourmet meal, wild pheasant with steamed veg and chili sauce. His eyes lit up as he let the novel flavors entice his palate. I was only a wee boy when he sliced off a piece and offered it to me. The chili sauce was so strong that I almost gagged, but I held it in, the heat making my face flush and heart race. I gingerly asked for more.

My grandfather smiled at me “That my boy, is why we should always try new things.”

image

###########################################################
Written for The Light and Shade Challenge of Monday November 17th 2014.
  

