Picture it and Write: Find

by joetwo

Hi there! This is my offering for this week’s picture it and write from Ermilia’s blog here. Once again, this picture is not mine, this one is by Steve Rosset, I only use it for inspiration. Anyway Enjoy.

Find

“Look here! I’ve found something.”

The small girl ran into my office, something precious cupped in her hands. She must have ran all the way from the fields and was panting heavily, shaking from a mixture of exertion and excitement.

“What have you got?” I asked her, expecting the unusual rock or pretty flower that she usually brings to me.

“This!” She breathed out, opening her closed hands so that I could see. “I found it just at the fence.”

After nearly twenty years you would have thought that a man could have forgotten the little details. That was a false hope. That little pod still filled my nightmares so I knew exactly what it was.

I had to be sure “Hand it here.” I said taking a knife from my desk. With my usual skill I sliced open the leathery skin, careful to avoid the spines. I shifted my head to let more light shine on the insides.

“Dammit!” I cursed softly and watched as the unhatched larvae, still too young to survive on their own slowly moved and died in the open air.

“Cool!” The girl said and moved to touch the little worms. I shifted my hand quickly to keep her off.

“No!” I said firmly. “These are dangerous.”

I ordered her to go to chief”s office, bring him back here quickly and to then take me and him to the exact place where she found this. She ran out as fast as her legs could carry her.

I looked at the now dead wriggling things. This was bad. No egg case could have survived this long, there must be an adult around, inside the fence and everything.

If we move quickly maybe we can kill it before it strikes.

Provided it hasn’t struck already.

image

