Picture it and Write: Minds Within Minds

by joetwo

Hi there! This is my offering for this week’s picture it and write for Ermilia’s blog here. Once again, the picture is not mine, it is by http://tamilia.deviantart.com , I only use it for inspiration. Anyway, Enjoy!

Minds Within Minds

In the foyer of the institute was a sculpture Minds within Minds. The brainchild of a former client which our founder, Professor Kruger thought best captured our philosophy.

It consisted of the form of a woman’s head, hollow and cut in half. Within which was another smaller half-head which itself held a half-head. Three in all. These heads were used as containers for exotic plants of various hues which, given the ministrations of our grounds keepers, continuously flowered in beautiful colours.

That is what Kruger would tell us about our work. In our time with clients we are supposed to peer inside their minds, find their inner selves and then plant the seeds of something wonderful. Though our tending may be necessary to get the seed growing, given the right container the seeds have the best chance of coming to fruition.

At the time I remember just nodding along. Not seeing anything particularly special in the concentric porcelain faces beyond the aesthetic. However over the years as I have seen my clients go on to become doctors, engineers, and yes, artists, I have taken a new appreciation of what it means to cultivate the young minds in my care, to bring them to their full potential.

Like the sculpture there to inspire us, our clients are filled with the potential for greatness, the ability to be the container of something truly wonderful. All they need is the seed and a little bit of care.

Now, whenever I walk past Minds Within Minds, I am filled with a great sense of pride in what I do. Because how can you not be filled with joy, every day of your life, when you work to bring people to the fullest of their potential?

image

     

