The Angel

by joetwo

Sex! You come here for sex!

The most beautiful women in the world. For you here!

Our clean girls do filthy things. Come in and see!

These slogans and a hundred others were shouted at me as I walked around the red-light district. Debauchery and vice, some barely legal, others far gone yet slyly hidden, where all there for the money in your pocket. It was sordid and depraved and I was hunting for something to tickle my fancy.

I turned into a quiet side-street and found that the constant barrage of offers had ceased. Instead there was only a single man, sitting on a chair beneath a wooden carving of a devil. He looked at me and said quietly.

Would you like to see an Angel?

There was something about the way he said it, the look in his eyes, that compelled me to nod my head in agreement. I was lead in through the doorway and through to a room with no light. I heard a voice from the darkness.

You should go to a pear tree for pears, not to an elm.

Then were was light, a smell of sulphur in the air and I realized that what was in front of me was indeed an angel.

One that had fallen a long time ago.

image

########################################################
Written for the Light and Shade Challenge of Monday the ninth of June  2014

