Picture it and Write: Through the Lens

by joetwo

Hi there! This is my offering for Picture it and Write from Ermilia’s blog here. Once again, the picture is not mine, I only use it for inspiration. Anyway enjoy!

Through the Lens

“Bollix!” I muttered, turning over the camera to examine it.

“What did you say?” Said Violet, eyes not leaving the road.

“The flash was off.” I replied, turning the camera in my hands. “I just tried to get a photo of you driving but without the flash I don’t think you’ll be able to make out much.”

Violet hazarded a quick glance at me. “Don’t you dare take a picture of me Seamus! I know you! You’ll just upload it and show it to everyone. You know I don’t want that!”

I had overstepped a line. I knew I had to roll back. “It was only going to be a memento Vi. I swear! Private. Just for us.”

“You know the rules.” She was looking at me now, only looking at the road to make sure that we weren’t about to hit anything. “Nothing personal! This was only to find inspiration.”

I nodded. In truth, the reason we were driving down this desert road was as strange as the way we had met in the first place. We were both writers, from opposite sides of the world, drawn together by the fact that our work at some times complemented and at other times greatly diverged from each other. We had decided, when the Fates had brought us in close proximity, to leave Violet’s city and travel together out into the wilderness, camera in hand, looking for inspiration. What either of us would find, through the lens, could only be interesting.

Unfortunately, things had not gone well. We had pictures, some very good ones but not one of them really inspired us. Violet was starting to get frayed at the edges.

“I really can’t believe you Seamus! I’m trying to make it to the Freeway before dark and you want to flash me in the face? What kind of idiot are you? I have to get back to LA. Then I have to drop you back at your hotel. And after all that, before I finally get my first sleep in two days, I have do all the chores that I couldn’t do this weekend because; guess what, I’ve got work to do tomorrow. Jeez! Why did I agree to this?”

“I’m sorry.” I murmured and said nothing else, instead turning the camera over again. To pass the time I turned on the viewer to look through the images. The first one I saw was the last I had made and it forced me to ask Violet “Could you stop for a second Vi? You should see this.”

It was only a hope but I thought we’d found our inspiration.

Looking through the lens. I finally saw the sky.

image

