Ghosts on the Wall

by joetwo

“Kiss me” she said “Just like you used to”

I was looking at the garden fence, at our shadows side by side in the bright summer Sun.

I can see her shadow leaning into mine and I turn to see…

Nothing.

In confusion I look back to the wall.

The two shadows are kissing, embracing passionately.

Yet she is not there, not beside me.

What are these? Ghosts? A shadow of what might have been?

I begin to panic.

Then I awake. Covered in sweat, in a bed too big for one.

It is the middle of the night and I need to sleep.

Yet I can’t.

Everything reminds me of her, everything that I have lost.

Even my dreams, once unassailable fortresses of rest, have been poisoned by her loss.

I can’t sleep, yet I can’t stay awake.

Not here, not now.

Everything reminds me of her.

Of why I shouldn’t have said ‘goodbye’.

Shadow of love: Sadow of a couple kissing

##################################################################

Written for the Light and Shade challenge of the 28th of April 2014

