Father and Son

by joetwo

When people think about the Survey they always think Giant Cruisers and they do a lot of good work. But mostly we were tiny little ships with two-man crews, trying to visit every last system in the galaxy to see what’s there. It could be boring, but you could always find something.

The crews were organized in “Father/Son” pairs. The Father had the experience and commanded while the Son was fresh out of training.

Now; the Father/Son didn’t imply anything. They could just as easily be women and the same age but on my first flight my Father was over fifty compared to my barely twenty. His name was Kyle and he had been everywhere.

I was able to piece it from our scattered conversations. He wasn’t unfriendly but with the age-gap we couldn’t really gel. After six months, we only really talked on our final night.

We had stumbled upon a rogue planet and it was the most interesting thing that we had seen. Kyle figured better late than never and emerged with a bottle “Might as well celebrate”

“Never had the time” he confessed; the whiskey lubricating. “Only came close once. Must have been..oh twenty years ago. She was on Lagrange. Cassie was her name. I spent one night but had to leave the next day. When I came back she had left with a kid. It might have been mine. Never knew!”

I was too drunk to put two and two together then but I was able remember it. I never knew my father but my mother, Cassandra used to work in space. But then we were home and he was long gone.

I never could ask him. Kyle was killed by a radiation leak. I never told mom, she seemed unwilling to even mention my father when I was young. I liked the thought; my Father being my father. I remember his report. Said I was a good Son. Perhaps that was enough, I like to think it was.

#######################################
Written for Trifecta Week One Hundred and Eight

