Medicine Inside Me

by joetwo

Tuesday:

It was my eight birthday yesterday but we couldn’t have a party like they said we would because Mommy was sick. She got so sick that they had to bring her to the hospital and have lots of doctors look after her. Since she left only me and Daddy are in the house and we can’t go out, not even to school. I miss my Mommy.

Wednesday:

Now my Daddy is sick too! A doctor came with a mask over her face and looked at both of us. She told us that Daddy had to go to the hospital that Mommy was at but that I had to stay here. She told me that everything would be alright and that someone would be here to look after me. She seemed scared though.

Thursday:

The doctor lady came today and told me that a lot of people have become sick with a bug and I’m the only one who didn’t catch it. She said that means I must have some medicine inside me and that they need some of my blood and they can use it to cure people.

Friday:

They took a lot of blood from my arm today. They took so much that it made me woozy. Mary gave me ice-cream because I was so brave. The doctor lady from the last day is not around any more. Mary says that she got sick too. I asked Mary if the medicine inside me could help her too. She says it might.

Saturday:

Mary got sick and had to go. She said that someone would come to look after me. But I haven’t seen anyone else all day. Even outside I can’t seen any cars.

Sunday:

I haven’t seen anyone else today. I’m hungry and cold. I am going to go to the hospital and try to find someone. I will leave my diary so that people know where I have gone. I hope they can use the medicine inside me.

#######################################

Written for trifecta week ninety-four.

