Of Sound Mind

by joetwo

“Dad! You can’t be serious! What were you thinking?”

“Of course I am serious. This is exactly what I want.”

“But Dad! Isn’t it a bit… odd?”

“Yeah! Great isn’t it?”

“But this is your funeral Dad! Your last good bye to the world. Wouldn’t you rather it be a little more, traditional?”

“What? Like everyone else’s? Why would I want that? I for one am sick of going to the same boring service. All the guys will appreciate the changes I have made.”

“A funeral isn’t about impressing people! It’s…”

“Like Hell it isn’t! Remember Jimmy’s funeral? Remember the gaggle of auld ones I pointed out to you? They were taking note of everything. Rating it all. Saying “It was a good mass!” and “The flowers were wonderful!” I want to give those biddys something to natter about!”

“Really Dad! Do you think what you planned is acceptable? I mean the stripper!”

“Strippers son! I arranged for two!”

“And the music.”

“What exactly is wrong with Highway to Hell? It’s my favourite song.”

“Do you think that is really all right for a funeral?”

“I love you son but really I sometimes have to wonder how did my loins make someone so pedantic? I swear you must have been born wearing a grey suit. You were born to be an accountant; you have no flair in you. Perhaps one day you’ll see why I have to do this.”

“I just find it too crazy!”

“You”ll find sometimes that a little crazy is good for you. Makes life worth living.”

“But I can’t help thinking that some people might be very upset.”

“If they don’t expect this out of me than they didn’t know me and shouldn’t be at my funeral. But enough about it. I’ve made the arrangements and that’s final.”

“If you’re sure about it Dad.”

“Damn right I am! But enough about Death! I still have some living to do! Come and check out my new Corvette! It’s a classic!”

#####################################

Written for Trifecta Week Seventy-Eight.

