Picture It and Write: Fallen

by joetwo

Hi there! This is my offering for this week’s picture it and write from Ermilia’s blog here. Once again, the picture is not mine I only use it for inspiration. Anyway; Enjoy!

Fallen

I am amazed how quickly it happened. For years I was on top. Captain of the team. The most beautiful girlfriend in the town. Loved and admired by all. Who’d have thought it was built on sand?

I’d have to say; it appears that a great many people must have resented me behind closed doors. I am amazed now many of my so called “friends” have abandoned me, they now spit at me when I walk past them. How many formerly adoring fans now refuse to serve me in the store. As if anything has really changed.

But everything seemingly has. Their star is a “Faggot!” They cheered on a “Queer” all those years. As if they were tainted by my contagion. They look at me as a pariah, like nothing I did before matters.

Though that is nothing compared to the ire of my teammates. If I revealed myself to be Satan himself I don’t think they would have been any less angry at me. I got into a few fights. But that is not so much, I am still one of the biggest guys on the team. It is usually more subtle. The odd comment or word scrawled onto my locker.

What really shocked me was Jason, formerly my best friend. We used to be as close as could be until at a party last week we got drunk and I told him how I really felt. Everything then changed in an instant. The hatred in his eyes has been palpable since then. I’m not absolutely sure who spread the news about me but I just know he had something to do with it.

In fact the only person who has treated me with anything close to normalcy has been Melissa. In private at least. In public she has acted very much the hurt martyr. But that is an act, it has always been an act with her.

I’m walking back to my locker; it probably has ‘Faggot’ written on it again or maybe they will have something more inventive this time like ‘Sodomite’, the preacher taught them that one, but they can’t get me down. I may have fallen but I am still higher than all of those bottom dwellers.

And I am not alone. I knew that from yesterday when I opened my locker and I found the note slide under the door. I thought it was going to be more abuse and was about to throw it out when I took a look. It was only a few words, a short sentiment but it made all the difference.

Hang in there. We’re with you.

