Who Says Trash TV Rots Your Brain? (By Guest Contributor Catherine Brophy)

by joetwo

Today’s post comes courtesy of my friend and excellent storyteller Catherine Brophy.

Catherine has just published a book called Burning bright. Also available in e-book.

She gave me a quick blurb on the book for you here.

The Celtic Tiger is in his prime and the Kerrigans are splashing the cash. They have made it big

time, so eat your heart out you small town snobs! But Daddy’s-girl Kirsty wants Celebrity and

International Fame and devotes herself to pursuing this dream. Crashing Madonna’s Christmas

party doesn’t help, neither does causing a stir on Big Brother but when a video clip of Kirsty

goes viral on You Tube, fame arrives with a bang. But Tracey O’Hagan, a blast from a shady

patch in the Kerrigan past, has appeared on the scene. She’s mad. She’s bad. And she’s definitely

dangerous to know.

Set in the years of the Celtic Tiger, Burning Bright is told in the voices of Kerrigan family

members and friends. It’s funny. It’s believable. And it will definitely make you laugh.

   

Burning bright.JPG

Catherine in her generosity; wrote a little ditty for us based on how she was inspired to write.

Once again; if you like this then I would recommend checking out her website or buying her books.

WHO SAYS TRASH T.V. ROTS YOUR BRAIN?

Everyone loves a good sneer. Yes you do, be honest. But most of us keep our

best sneering for home and like-minded friends. T.V. pundits do it in full view of

the public, on screen and in print. And their favourite object of derision is trash

T.V. Pap for the masses, they say. Rots your brain. Made for idiots, fools and

couch potatoes. What they never admit is that it can be entertaining.

Much as I love a jaunt through the history of Rome, an documentary on

the lost tribes of the Orinoco or Brian Cox musing on astrophysics, there are

times when all I want from the box is coloured pictures in front of my eyes and no

strain on the brain. I like to be able to sit back and drool. Maybe sip a little

wine. Maybe grin. Trash television is perfect for this. And, if you keep your

eyes and ears open, you might even learn about the human condition. I like to

call it research.

I live the life of a Trappist, spending my days at the computer, playing with

my imaginary friends – it’s called writing. The few people I meet are family and

friends. But a writer needs more.

aching to make it as Models? On America’s Next Top Model of course. Or

deluded teens who want to be Pop Stars? X-Factor. Or people being rude about

their host’s food and taste in décor? Come Dine with Me. Or a T.V. newsreader,

spangled in sequins, failing to learn how to Tango? Strictly Come Dancing. Or

spoiled Daddy’s girls spending outrageous amounts on a party. My Sweet

Sixteen. And as for Big Brother it’s an encyclopaedia of naivety, madness,

bitchiness, lechery, cliques, betrayals, crushes, insecurity, over-confidence and

Where would I meet mad, young ones

backstabbing.

Most trash T.V programmes have a competitive element and competition

affects people in so many different ways. It lets you see how people present

themselves, it lets you see the see the mask slip, it lets you see the gap between

what they say and their body language says, what they say and what their actions

say. For a writer that’s endlessly fascinating.

The idea for Burning Bright came to me from reality T.V. While

flicking through channels I caught sight of a wedding planner on RTE. He was

perma-tanned, medallioned, white-suited andtossing his luxuriant locks while

arranging the transport of elephants for an Irish country wedding. What?

Elephants! For a wedding in Ireland! And with that, Kirsty Kerrigan sashayed

into my mind with her motto “Because I’m worth it” and her aching desire to be

the Paris Hilton of Ireland and her insistence that that I write a novel about her.

And I did. Thank you trash Television.

