Something Fishy

by joetwo

Tight Band Communication
Classification: Top Secret
From: Malcolm Donnelly, Secretary General, Department of Defence
To: Jeremy Phillips, Director, Security Agency

Attached file: newspaper clipping ‘New Segovian defence minister dies after freak heart-attack.’

Jeremy,

It says here that “The minister was declared in peak condition just days before. His doctors are baffled.” Sounds like something fishy. I hope that you had nothing to do with that. It would be most unfortunate if you did.

Malcolm
**************

Malcolm,

How could you think that we would even consider doing something like that to one of our closest allies? No matter now damaging; how unfortunate, some of their recent policies have been, they are still our friends. Besides; this looks too subtle, a heart attack could be natural, we usually ‘arrange’ car accidents to get rid of our problems.

Jeremy
*************

Jeremy,

I sincerely hope that you refrain from using such cavalier language in your professional capacity to your subordinates. I just want to give you a friendly warning. The PM has noted how busy you have been in Segovia lately. You can be damn sure others have noticed it too. Should anything come out I am going to tell you straight off that I already have far too much to Juggle and I will drop you first.

Malcolm
*************

Malcolm,

I’m glad to see you care so much for me. It is really touching, plucking at the old heart-strings.
We both know that won’t happen.

Jeremy
*************

Jeremy

What? People find out or you getting dropped in the shit?
You can’t just tell us I suppose.
Even for a spy master you can be cryptic.

Malcolm
*************

Malcolm

That is why you love me. Admit it! I am good at my job.
Got to go. Busy Busy. Far too many messes to clean up. Tough job; someone has to do it.

Jeremy

*************

Jeremy

As long as they aren’t your own. We can’t handle another one of your messes.
Just try and be careful.

Malcolm

*************

Written or Trifecta Week Sixty-Seven

