Picture it and write: Walkabout

by joetwo

Hello everybody. Here is my weeks offering for picture it and write from Ermilia’s Blog here. The picture is not mine, I simply use it for inspiration. Anyway enjoy.

Walkabout

It was getting stuffy in there, I was fed up. Being told what to do, where to go, who to talk to. It is almost like I’m not in a free country anymore. I wanted out, I wanted to go for a walkabout.

I supposed I could have asked them if I could have gone out. But it was likely that they would say no and I would not have been able to abide that. I was able to sneak out by following right behind someone else as they walked out through the door. If anyone saw me I suppose they must have ignored me. Just another Joe walking out of there, nothing to get all worked up about.

As soon as I made it out of the main door I started to run, pushing the man in front of me out of my way. I hope he didn’t hit his head against the steps going down, I don’t know, I never looked back. I made my way straight to the main exit, scared all the time that the guards would find me and try and bring me back. But no one stopped me. When I shot through the gate, I was home free.

Oh it felt good to be out of there, to breathe free air, to feel proper sunshine on your face, sunshine not filtered through glass. I was so buoyant that I started to run, my legs almost leaping from the pavement with each bound. No guards, no nurses, no pills taking away my free will, it was good to be alive.

I first tried to keep near the main road, I found that I was getting looks from people as I walked close to homes, but when I saw the police car driving along, I knew that I had to get away from the road. I remembered a park near from where I was. It ended on the bank of a river and that went all the way to the countryside and sweet, sweet freedom.

Getting free sure does take a lot of energy. All of this walking and running takes a lot out of you. It was very hot and I really needed a some water. Thankfully, there was a pond in the middle of the park. I was able to duck my head into the middle of it and drink my fill. When I got back to my feet I noticed that several children were pointing at me, saying that I shouldn’t have been drinking that dirty water. I was going to argue with them about how they take all of the toxins in their food and drinks but I saw that some of the parents were starting to come forward and, even more worryingly, run out to get help. So I decided to make my exit.

I made it to the river and hid under a low bridge while I waited for the sun to set. I figured that it would be foolhardy to make a break for it during daylight. I was also getting hungry but I knew that if they got so worked up over how I was drinking what I needed, then eating would probably drive them over the edge. So I knuckled up and waited.

With darkness I was able to move more freely, provided I avoided staying too long under lights. The maze of city buildings turned to open countryside and I found myself even happier than I was before. This was where I belonged. Not cooped up under someone’s control, but free, with nature.

I was still hungry and I didn’t have any money on me so I figured I would have to improvise. No sooner had I started looking but I found a farmhouse with a big vegetable garden. There was a lot of food there and I figured that they couldn’t possibly eat them all so they must be able to spare a little.

I kneeled onto the soft earth and started to dig up some carrots. The soil was dark and heavy, it seemed organic. That was excellent, it would do me good to finally eat something free of chemicals and nerve agents. I bit into one of the stringy root, it was delicious.

My revelry was short-lived I heard a dog barking and turned to see several faces and a dog looking at me through the window of the farmhouse. They were pointing at me and then back at the television. I didn’t know what that meant, but I knew it was bad, so I started to run again.

I ran over fences and hedges, crops and pasture, and when I finally stopped to catch my breath, I felt that I must have lost them. It was only then that I noticed the light in the sky, a rapid drumming coming from it, a helicopter.

Cars could be heard in the distance. I saw the reflection of the flashing lights before I saw them coming through the gate. I knew I couldn’t get away so I stood still, there is no use in fighting what you can’t control.

The cops stayed well back from me while two nurses and Doctor Planter spoke quietly about how they missed me back in the hospital, slowly and securely grabbing my arms and putting on the straitjacket.

In the end I was glad to get the jacket on and back into a warm van. I was starting to find myself a little too cold. The next day I was told how bad I had been running away, how bad it was for my ‘treatment’ but I didn’t really listen. I was thinking about what I had learned, about the money, clothes and food I would need should the opportunity arise another time and I would get to go walkabout again.

